I don’t do a ton of editorial work and the rates that they pay don’t always make economic sense to even take the job.  But when it sounds interesting, it’s hard to say no.  You can get into some cool spaces and meet some very interesting people.  Sometimes there’s very little time or it’s a struggle to get something worthwhile, but it’s kind of like a creative pop quiz with a fair amount of freedom in how you answer the questions.

I was asked to do a portrait recently and I was able to access the location 45 minutes before the subject showed up.  It was one of the cool spaces.  After spending some time on our set up and figuring out a few different angles to shoot, I got to do something that is unfortunately infrequent, play.  Nothing brilliant, just a great space that made my life easier.

